Comic Nights: Sex Criminals

I’m not sure if I should have a segment like this because I might post more about comics for the next couple of weeks/months. For the mean time, let’s just call it ‘Comic Nights’.

SEX CRIMINALS

(c) geek-news.mtv.com
cover of the first issue

The first issue of Sex Criminals came out last Sept. 25 in America. I’ve had my eye on it before it came out since I follow the amazing people behind this on twitter. Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky, they are.

Sex Criminals is a story of lady named Suzie who is able to stop time when having coitus (sex, I meant. I just feel more comfortable referring to it as ‘coitus’).
Suzie’s story was told in a flashback form. It started off a little sad because of the loss she had been to. Once she had a chill time, she discovered this power, with full awe as she was still young. Growing up, she got used to it and considered it as an advantage because time stopped appears to be a “me time” for her. With the thought that she’s an extraordinaire for this ability, she felt amazed and got used to it whilst growing up. However, she felt sad because her power killed her expectation on sex. Suzie met this guy and things turn around.

Did she feel happier? I’m thinking she did. Did her she become baddy bad? OH YES.

 

My thoughts! (Seriously, I can’t say much so if this appears to be a boring review, my apologies.)

Let me just start off by saying that this piece is for mature people, the people who are open-minded (untouched or not) enough about the idea of having coitus.

I love love love this! Getting hooked by only it first issue? This is gonna be good.
I like Suzie’s character. She appears to be a simple but her personality provides the best definition of the word ‘strong.’
Also, I love how Fraction projected the Suzie as a woman.
She expected something emotional, something sentimental from sex as if she values it more than just having fun with it.

AND MAKE NOTE OF THIS: SUZIE AND I HAVE THE SAME FAVOURITE BOOK (LOLITA). It fascinated me a little bit.

 

Leave a Reply

