What Defines You?

“I used their negativity to light my fire to keep going. Use that.”
– Lizzie Velasquez

I make it a part of my day (or sometimes week) to read and watch articles and clips that will help me relax, feel fulfilled and be inspired.
As I scroll down Huffington Post’s facebook page, this post titled ‘Labeled ‘World’s Ugliest Woman,’ Motivational Speaker Turns Hate Into Love’ instantly caught my attention as I have this really almost cringe-y, trembling, unexplainable feeling whenever I see the word “ugly.” I feel this sudden urge to roll my eyes when someone regards someone as “ugly.” Without a second, I clicked through the link and there were my feelings,  – both happy and sad, and a million of other emotions. Happy that I met this gem, Lizzie Velasquez, a motivational speaker and the lady on the video that I watched, who gave me a more open thought of who and what should define me as a person. Sad about the bullies and sadder that I was, for some time in my life, one of them. A million of other emotions that the hundreds of emoticons on my phone can’t even explain. One of which is my thought of electing Lizzie as my best friend because she has a good hair and she likes it.

Lizzie,

Thank you for sharing us your wonderful story. You are just one of the beautiful creatures in this planet who possess brilliant speaking and exceptional compassion. Thank you for telling the world that real beauty and success is undefinable and unseen. Thank you for teaching us that being pushed away should not feel like a default thing for people who don’t abide by the standard of the higher and more famous entity. That what you look like or where you come from or how much  money do you have in your bank account should not be your definition or the other’s. Most of all, thank you for the bravery that you have put and will put upon every person who have heard and will hear you enunciate how happiness in this life must be like.

CJ

Leave a Reply

